top of page
  • Writer's pictureK

Ducks in a Row

Hi there, it's been awhile. Many have noted and commented on the absence of posts and response to the Captivated By Child Life blog and social media pages. The whole world got a little crazy in 2020, as well as my personal life. I have been, as the picture states, trying to get my ducks in a row but it's been rough. As the sole author of this page and it's content I have had to choose things in my life over the past year to put my focus on, and sadly this page wasn't one of them that I could choose.

I try to focus this page on child life content pertinent to those in the field or those aspiring to the profession, but in order to come back to this page I need to have a moment of personal space to offer some insight on my long hiatus. So, if you want to understand keep reading, if you're here for the child life goods hopefully you check back in soon.


2020 was a really rough year... for everyone... it meant that I needed more time for self care and less time to do things that sucked energy out of me. 2020 was a year that brought scare after scare for job security and health of family. 2020 included a lot of expectations from students interested in child life for extra support through the blog due to changes with Covid. 2020 was also the year that my husband and I were diagnosed with infertility after trying for over a year to start our family. That's a lot of stuff in general, but the infertility on top of it was enough to break me a bit. That diagnosis compounded with the amount of stress I was under to help students AND perform well in a job that was no longer a certainty made for a really, really hard year.

I chose to put the blog on hold and ignore things from Captivated By Child Life because I couldn't do anything with it and feel good at the same time. Honestly, it was really hard to feel good about anything this past year. I have never before in my life faced a struggle like this. It has been infuriating, isolating, confusing, and absolutely terrifying all at the same time. For those of you that know this struggle, or a similar one, I think you can agree.


After working on me and putting me first, I'm finally ready to get back out here (though it will be slow at first). I want to start engaging with students and professionals again. I want to contribute to conversations about the direction of our field. I want to share my personal insights and my thoughts on topics. But, most importantly I want to get back to what the origin of this blog was about, feeling on fire about child life and sharing that fire with others. I hope many of you will re-engage with me and the blog, but understand if it's been too long for others. I'll get my ducks in a row eventually, but until then I'll settle for being content that they are somewhere in the pond.


-K



28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page